Board of Directors


Judy Barker (Union City)

Peggy Burch (Memphis)
Community Engagement Editor | The Daily Memphian

Tonya Dyson (Memphis)
Executive Director | Memphis Slim Collaboratory

Kathi Leatherwood (Jackson)
Retired arts professional

John Talbott (Henderson)
Attorney and Publisher


Lauren Fitzgerald (Smyrna)
Managing Director, Interculture Leadership Institute | Alternate ROOTS

Courtney Gregg (Nashville)
Blue Sky Artist Management

Carol McCoy (Nashville)
Retired Chancellor | Davidson County Chancery Court

Allison Stansberry (Nashville)
Business Analyst, Development Solutions | Parallon


Daryl A. Carter, Immediate Past Chair (Johnson City)
Director/Africana Studies & Professor of History | ETSU

Mary Pom Claiborne, Chair (Knoxville)
Director, Marketing, Development & Communications | Knox Co. Public Library System

Amy Elias (Knoxville)
Director, Humanities Center | UT Knoxville

Julie Forkner (Oak Ridge)
Director | Oak Ridge Public Library


Mary Kennedy Hendershot (Sweetwater)
Community Arts Leader

Heather Hoover (Johnson City)
George Arnold Chair of Humanities; Professor of English and Composition; Director of Writing | Milligan University

James McKissic, Vice Chair (Chattanooga)
President | ArtsBuild

Chandra Ward (Chattanooga)
Assistant Professor of Sociology | University of Tennessee at Chattanooga